Who's Who

Who runs the Inverness Choral Society?

Below you will find details of our conductor, accompanist and members of the voluntary committee.  There are some photos at the foot of the page (of those we have managed to catch on camera!)

PAT MacMAHON is an Honorary Patron.
SHEILA BRUCE is an Honorary Life Member.

Gordon Tocher was born in Inverness and studied music at Aberdeen University.  Besides teaching and composing (commissions have included works for  Inverness Choral Society, for the Scottish Guitar Festival and for the Highland  Chamber Orchestra), he is engaged in a wide range of other musical activities. He is active as an organist, and is a member of the chamber choir Musick Fyne and the local instrumental ensembles Coronach, The Marvel of Peru and the Merlewood Ensemble. A long-standing member of the Inverness Choral Society, Gordon was appointed Conductor in 2001.

Accompanist:  SHEILA BRUCE
A native of Thurso, Sheila began accompanying at a very early age, encouraged by her mother, a professional singer. At Aberdeen University, where she graduated with an Honours M.A. in Music, her accompanying skills were much used and developed over a wide range of music, utilising her versatility. Early in her teaching career she spent 8 years in Shetland, where she accompanied the Lerwick Choral Society, along with many school events. Since moving to the Inverness area in 1974, she  was for many years a visiting school music teacher, but for the last 10 years before her retirement she was in charge of music at Glenurquhart High School and its feeder primaries. Since 1976 (yes, 40 years!) she has been Rehearsal Pianist for Inverness Choral Society, also at times acting as MD for Inverness Opera Company. She plays for Burns Suppers and Civic Receptions, is employed as one of Inverness Music Festival's accompanists and has accompanied the annual Highland Hospitals Carol Concert since the inception of the choir. In 2016 we celebrated Sheila's 40 years as our extremely talented and patient accompanist!


Vice Chair:  (vacant)


Membership Secretary:  MARY THOMSON

Concert Secretary / Librarian:   ANGUS BETHUNE



Carolthon:   CAROL BROWN

Artwork and printing:  CLARE BLOIS

Publicity:  FRAN TILBROOK (temporarily - the post still needs filling)

Social Convenors:  VACANT

Stage Manager:  JOHN LONG

Website (ex officio): ELSPETH LEE

Facebook (ex offico): LORRAINE GEDDES





Gordon Tocher
Gordon Tocher
Sheila Bruce
Sheila Bruce
Angus Bethune
Angus Bethune
Chair, Concert Secretary, Librarian
Membership secretary Mary Thomson.
Douglas Taylor, Treasurer
Clare Blois
Clare Blois
Artwork, Printing
Fran Tilbrook
Fran Tilbrook
Sandra Riach, Publicity
Gill Silver, Patrons
John Long, Stage Manager
Mary Deverell & Alice Shering, Social Convenors
Katie Jeffs & Alaine MacDonald
(Juice break life-savers)
site map | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement